The Musical Legacy of Sergei Rachmaninoff

Keywords: Sergei Rachmaninoff, authorial cycle of lectures, the classics of 20th century music.


“The musical legacy of Sergei
Rachmaninoff” — this is the first lecture from
the authorial cycle of Doctor of Arts, Professor
Alexander Demchenko “The Classics
of 20th Century Russian Music.” Its following
sections will be dedicated to such composers
as Igor Stravinsky, Sergei Prokofiev,
Nikolai Myaskovsky, Dmitri Shostakovich,
Aram Khachaturian, Georgiy Sviridov,
odion Shchedrin and Alfred Schnittke.
The lecture is supposed to include listening
to a number of musical fragments chosen
to give a general perception of the range
of the composer’s artistic explorations.
The preferential performance versions
and durations of the corresponding musical
fragments are given.
The publication of the lecture is addressed
to students and faculty members
of conservatories, artistic institutions
of higher education, as well as music colleges
and high schools.

Lecturing Tribune. Authorial Courses